NEW: The International Feldenkrais Training Program. START JULY 2015.

The Feldenkrais International Training Program starts in July 2015 and takes four years, with 40 days of in-class instruction per year. Internationally highly regarded and distinguished Feldenkrais Trainers will teach along with and under the experienced guidance of Educational Director Donna Ray, M.A., M.F.T.
The Training Program can be accomplished alongside your professional life. Teaching language is English.
Order the free information broschure about the Training Program.

The Feldenkrais Method: surprising learning

Throughout our whole life we continue to develop. We can learn to move with more precision, efficiency, and in particular with greater ease. We can even learn to learn.

Feldenkrais lessons explore a wide range of human movement, from infant development to the highest performance skills. The lessons are comfortable, sometimes surprising, and offer a sophisticated yet natural way of somatic learning which can have an instantly positive effect on our movement in every day life. The impressive effects of the Feldenkrais Method include an expanded range of movement, better breathing as well as improved movement skills for professionals such as musicians, athletes and dancers. Further effects can be more comfort and the re-discovery of an easy mobility. Changing one’s perception and experiencing a better understanding of oneself can also lead to fully reaching one’s individual potential both professionally and personally.
The Feldenkrais Method is a unique and revolutionary approach to the understanding of human learning, movement and function. It can be practiced equally effectively in group classes as in individual lessons.

What you learn – the syllabus

Your Feldenkrais Training Program offers 160 teaching days over four years. Every year features three segments consisting of 20, 10 and 10 teaching days.

In the first year of the Training Program you will be immersed in learning Awareness Through Movement. You will undergo an in-depth exploration of the ways you learned and moved as a growing child, and you will learn to move in ways you have never done before. You will greatly refine your ability to sense your bodily movement, become more aware of your processes of thinking, feeling, and action, and come to understand through self-observation, and the observation of others, how learning occurs. This intensive preparation will serve as the basis of learning how to communicate with others through the language of touch and movement.

A major theme of the second year is learning how to teach Awareness Through Movement lessons. We will analyze the structure of lessons including functional logic and learning principles. You will acquire a large repertoire of lessons during the course of the year. You will learn how to teach through small group exercises that focus on different aspects of Awareness Through Movement education, such as observational skills, understanding functional relationships, and use of voice and language. Small group exercises will provide you with practice time and feedback opportunities from the trainers and assistant trainers. In the practicum you will be given personal feedback on your learning abilities, competencies, teaching skills, and un-derstanding of the method. After successfully completing the first two years of the Training Program, you will be permitted to teach Awareness Through Movement as student teachers to the general public. This permission is provisional until full certification is achieved at the end of the Training Program.

In the third year you will learn elements needed for giving Functional Integration lessons. By this time you will have familiarity with a variety of basic functional situations. You will learn with greater clarity how these relate to basic skeletal movement patterns. You will also learn more about basic locomotory patterns such as crawling and walking, and other action patterns including lifting, pushing, and reaching. We will explore how all these patterns of action include elements of orientation, exploration, manipulation, expression, and discovery. You will also learn to see a person's habitual patterns of organization in movement, posture, and behaviour in functional terms, and how to go with a person's pattern of self-organization or how to present new options. You will learn more about how to shift and enhance a person's attention and perception, as well as how to clarify and improve their self-image.

During the fourth year of the Training Program you will give lessons to other students in order to learn the timing and structure needed to give supervised lessons to the general public. Practical supervision sessions of Functional Integration will provide feedback which you can utilize directly and immediately to improve the quality of your work. In addition, the topics will include Interpersonal Neurobiology; the fundamentals of current neuroscience and how they relate to relationships and learning. During the practicum you will receive feedback on your skills, sen¬sitivity, and theoretical understanding. The fourth year ends with your graduation and an internationally recognized certificate will be awarded.

Diversity and Languages

We welcome people of all ages and from all professional backgrounds (moving arts, music, sports, education, physical and occupational therapy, psychology, medicine etc.). As our Training Programs are characterized by international groups and an international educational team the teaching language is English and the second working language is German.
Our Training Program is one of the few in the German speaking countries that intentionally does not have interpreters. In our experience interpreted trainings lose almost half of the teaching time for the repetition in the other language – and that’s what we want to avoid.




Graduation of the Training Program "Wien 5" in March 2012


Ongoing Feldenkrais International Training Program "Wien 6" (2011 – 2015)

Die Internationale Feldenkrais Ausbildung "Wien 2017".

Die internationale Feldenkrais Ausbildung in Wien dauert vier Jahre. Sie umfasst 40 Unterrichtstage pro Jahr. Ausgezeichnete und weltweit geschätzte Feldenkrais Trainerinnen und Trainer unterrichten unter der erfahrenen Leitung von Educational Director Donna Ray, M.A., M.F.T. Die Methode kann berufsbegleitend erlernt werden.

Bestellen Sie kostenlos die Informationsbroschüre über die Ausbildung.

Diese Ausbildung ist vom European Feldenkrais Training and Accreditation Board und vom Feldenkrais Verband Österreich akkreditiert und autorisiert. Dadurch haben unsere Absolventinnen und Absolventen die Sicherheit, dass ihre Ausbildung weltweit anerkannt wird und sie die Möglichkeit haben, in jedem nationalen Feldenkrais Verband Mitglied zu werden.

Die Feldenkrais Methode: Überraschendes Lernen

Wir entwickeln uns unser ganzes Leben lang weiter. Wir können auch kontinuierlich lernen, uns besser zu bewegen: mit Präzision, mit Effizienz und besonders mit mehr Leichtigkeit. Wir lernen dadurch auch zu lernen. Das macht uns flexibler und erweitert unsere Handlungsfähigkeiten.

Feldenkrais Stunden finden im gesamten Spektrum der menschlichen Bewegung statt: von der frühkindlichen Bewegungsentwicklung bis hin zu körperlichen Höchstleistungen – z.B. in der Musik oder im Sport. Die Stunden sind angenehm, manchmal überraschend. Sie ermöglichen eine anspruchsvolle, aber ganz natürliche Art und Weise des somatischen Lernens, das unmittelbar positive Auswirkungen auf den bewegten Alltag hat.
Die eindrucksvollen Effekte von Feldenkrais Stunden sind erweiterte Bewegungsspielräume im Alltag und optimierte Bewegungen wie etwa von MusikerInnen, SportlerInnen und TänzerInnen. Auch Schmerzfreiheit, Wieder-Erlernen von Bewegungen, Wieder-Erschließen von Mobilität und mehr Leichtigkeit werden erreicht. Berufliche und private Kompetenzerweiterungen können erlangt werden. All dies geht mit Veränderungen des Selbstbildes einher, ein besserer Kontakt zu sich selbst wird erlebbar.

Was Sie lernen – der Syllabus

Ihre Feldenkrais Ausbildung umfasst 160 Unterrichtstage innerhalb von vier Jahren. Pro Jahr absolvieren Sie je drei Trainingssegmente zu jeweils 10, 10 und 20 Tagen.

Im ersten Jahr beschäftigen Sie sich intensiv mit Awareness Through Movement. Sie erforschen, wie Sie sich als Kind bewegt und wie Sie im Kindesalter gelernt haben. Dadurch eröffnen sich für Sie neue Möglichkeiten sich zu bewegen. Ihre Fähigkeit Bewegung wahrzunehmen wird sich verfeinern, ebenso lernen Sie, sich mehr und mehr Ihrer Denkprozesse, Gefühle und Handlungen bewusst zu werden. Durch Selbstbeobachtung und durch Beobachtung von Anderen begreifen Sie, wie Lernen vonstatten geht. Diese intensive Vorbereitung dient Ihnen als Grundlage für die Kommunikation mit Anderen mittels Sprache, Berührung und Bewegung.

Im zweiten Jahr lernen Sie, Awareness Through Movement Stunden zu unterrichten. Der Aufbau der Stunden, ihre funktionale Logik und immanenten Lernprinzipien werden analysiert. Sie eignen sich ein großes Repertoire an Lektionen an und lernen in kleinen Gruppen verschiedene Aspekte des Unterrichtens, z.B. Beobachtungsfähigkeit, das Verständnis funktionaler Zusammenhänge, den Gebrauch von Sprache und Stimme. Durch dieses Experimentieren und Üben, begleitet vom Feedback von TrainerInnen und Assistant TrainerInnen, sammeln Sie Ihre ersten Unterrichtserfahrungen. Im Praktikum am Ende des zweiten Jahres bekommen Sie persönliches Feedback zu Ihrem Lernen, zu den Fähigkeiten, die Sie entwickelt haben, und zu Ihrem Verständnis der Methode. Wenn Sie die ersten zwei Jahre der Ausbildung erfolgreich abgeschlossen haben, erhalten Sie eine provisorische Lehrerlaubnis, um öffentlich Kurse in Awareness Through Movement zu unterrichten.

Im dritten Jahr lernen Sie die elementaren Fertigkeiten, um Einzelstunden in Funktionaler Integrationzu geben und sind bereits mit einer Vielzahl von funktionalen Situationen vertraut. Deren Bezug zu den Bewegungsmustern, die durch das Knochengerüst vorgegeben sind, wird Ihnen immer klarer. Sie erfahren mehr über grundlegende Bewegungsmuster wie Krabbeln, Stehen und Gehen sowie über Handlungsmuster wie Heben, Drücken, Greifen etc. Gemeinsam wird erforscht, wie all diese Muster von unterschiedlichen Elementen beeinflusst werden: z.B. von der Orientierung im Raum, dem Wunsch die Umgebung zu erkunden, oder auch von der Art sich auszudrücken und Neues zu entdecken. Sie lernen, gewohnheitsmäßige Bewegungsmuster, Körperhaltungen oder auch das Verhalten eines Menschen funktional zu betrachten und verstehen, wie Sie diese Muster wahrnehmbar machen und neue Möglichkeiten anbieten können. Sie lernen auch, wie Sie die Aufmerksamkeit eines Menschen lenken und ihm dadurch die Möglichkeit geben können, zu einem klareren und verbesserten Selbstbild zu gelangen.

Im vierten Ausbildungsjahr geben Sie den anderen Trainees Einzelstunden in Funktionaler Integration und lernen dabei, diese zeitlich und strukturell zu gestalten. Danach geben Sie Menschen von außerhalb des Trainingskontextes supervidierte Einzelstunden. In dieser praxisbezogenen Supervision erhalten Sie Feedback, das Sie unmittelbar nützen können um die Qualität Ihrer Arbeit zu verbessern. Zusätzlich werden Sie in Ihrer Ausbildung auch mit interpersoneller Neurobiologie bekannt gemacht und mit den Erkenntnissen der aktuellen Neurowissenschaften, z.B. über das Lernen oder die Gestaltung von Beziehungen. Im Abschlusspraktikum erhalten Sie Feedback zu Ihren Fertigkeiten, zu Ihrem Wahrnehmungsvermögen und theoretischem Verständnis der Methode. Das vierte Jahr schließt mit der Graduierung und der Verleihung eines international anerkannten Abschluss-Zertifikats ab.

Diversität & Sprache/n

In dieser Ausbildung sind Menschen aller Altersstufen willkommen, sowie mit unterschiedlichster Berufserfahrung (Tanz, Musik, Sport, Bildung, Physio- und Ergotherapie, Psychologie, Medizin usw.). Die Ausbildungen des Feldenkrais Institut Wien sind geprägt von internationalen Gruppenzusammensetzungen, daher ist die Unterrichtssprache Englisch, zweite Arbeitssprache ist Deutsch.
Diese Feldenkrais Ausbildung ist eine der wenigen im deutschsprachigen Raum, die bewusst ohne Dolmetschung veranstaltet wird. In gedolmetschten Feldenkrais Trainings geht annähernd die Hälfte der Zeit für die deutsche Wiederholung verloren – das wird im Feldenkrais Institut Wien vermieden.


Fotos von der Graduierung der Ausbildung "Wien 5" im März 2012 (2008 – 2012)

Abgeschlossene Internationale Feldenkrais Ausbildung "Wien 6" (2011 – 2015)

Die aktuell laufende Internationale Feldenkrais Ausbildung "Wien 2015" (2015 – 2019)